Log in

Log in

SMAFC Board of Directors

President Joseph Murray Receiving the Oath of Office from Retired Dearborn Fire Chief Nazih Hazime

Sergeant At Arms Mike Kennedy, Vice President Paul Wells, and Past President Christopher Stoecklein


Joseph Murray
Dearborn Fire Department

3750 Greenfield Road
Dearborn, MI 48120
(313) 943-2277


Christopher Stoecklein
Canton Fire Department

1150 S. Canton Center Rd.
Canton, MI 48188
(734) 394-5455


Paul Wells
Birmingham Fire Department

572 S. Adams Rd.
Birmingham, MI 48009
(248) 530-1901


Teresa Robinson
Ferndale Fire Department

1635 Livernois
Ferndale, MI 48220
(248) 546-2510


Mike Kennedy
Ann Arbor Fire Department

111 North Fifth Ave.
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
(734) 794-6961


Linda Stone

5967 Bedford Pl.
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
(517) 394-4398

Our Past Presidents

1928 Roy Motteshard  Dearborn 
1943 Roy Hitchings  Flint 
1944 Clark  Milan
1945 Norman Pritchard  Ferndale 
1946 Henry Goudy Wayne 
1947 Orie Hank  Lincoln Park 
1948 Cam Waldrof Trenton 
1949 Frank Durbin Hazel Park 
1950 Calvin Roberts  Livonia 
1951 Harold Gloyd FOMOCO 
1952 Frank Ford  Highland Park 
1953 Robert McAllister  Plymouth
1954 Tom Dickson Lincoln Park 
1955 Kenneth Roberts  Inkster 
1956 Calvin Johnson  Flint 
1957 Harold Flechsig  Roseville 
1958 Ernest Heller Ann Arbor 
1959 William Mason  Grosse Pointe Farms 
1960 Joseph Sloan  Madison Heights 
1962 Park Smith  Birmingham 
1962 Alex Kato  Taylor 
1963 Harry Martin Dearborn Township 
1964 Glenn Holmes  Monroe 
1965 Earl Dildine  St. Clair Shores 
1966 Roy Freeman  Southgate 
1967 Clyde Schmidt  Shelby Township 
1968 Volly Yanuszeski  Bloomfield Township 
1969 Ernie Fischer Redford Township 
1970 Dick Nunnelley  Birmingham 
1971 Art Stauch  Ann Arbor 
1972 Don Foote  Southfield 
1973 B.C. Grable  Flint 
1974 Ralph Crawford  Ypsilanti 
1975 Elmer Schulz  Southfield 
1976 Norman R. Smith  Centerline 
1977 John J. Bunk Livonia 
1978 James A. Harris  Allen Park
1979 Don Hoskins Madison Heights 
1980 Wally Zielkie Roseville 
1981 Ken Warfield Wayne 
1982 Gino Polidori Dearborn 
1983 Carl Gerds  East Detroit 
1984 Jim Halsey  Troy 
1985 Ted Scott  Westland 
1986 Bruce Dorland  Fenton 
1987 Gary Whitener Birmingham 
1988 Ken Fisher  Grosse Ile 
1989 Richard Marinucci  Farmington Hills 
1990 William Crouch  Royal Oak 
1991 Morley Ireland, Jr.  Roseville 
1992 James Harmes  Grand Blanc 
1993 William Donahue  Madison Heights 
1994 Richard Powell  Saginaw Township 
1995 Larry Lane  Brighton 
1996 Jack McArthur  Dearborn 
1997 Dennis Andrew  Rochester Hills 
1998 Jim Peterson Thomas Township 
1999 William Nelson Troy
2000 Danny Hagen Eastpointe
2001 Joe Grutza Trenton
2002 Jim Martin Madison Heights
2003 Doug Halstead Burton
2004 Michael Rorabacher Canton
2005 • Short Term Ray Ahonen Macomb Twp
2005 • Long Term Jim Reed Howell Area
2007 Martin DeLoach Brighton Area
2008 • Short Term Larry Morabito Ypsilanti Twp
2008 • Long Term Larry Waligora Milford
2010 • Short Term Alan D’Agostino Pittsfield Twp
2010 • Short Term Steve Kovalcik Sterling Heights
2011 • Long Term Jim Roberts Superior Twp
2013 Shadd Whitehead Livonia
2014 Andy Pless Howell
2015 George Morehouse St. Clair Shores
2016 Jeff Roberts Wixom
2017 Jeff Roberts Wixom
2018 Mike Evans Detroit Metro Airport
2019 Greg Lelito Madison Heights
2020 • Short Term Johnny Menifee Southfield
2020 David Brogan Dearborn Heights
2021 Greg Flynn West Bloomfield
2022 Christopher Stoecklein Canton
2023 Joseph Murray Dearborn

The Southeastern Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs will promote improvements in fire prevention and life safety, fire suppression, emergency medical services, and emergency related services. We will foster leadership, training, and networking opportunities; promote unity within the fire service; support a beneficial fire service legislative agenda; and elevation of ethical standards by its members. 

© Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs. All rights reserved.

5967 Bedford PL
Ann Arbor, MI 48105-9567

(517) 394-4398

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software